The pitcher that was left

Day 21,

glopowrimo

Here is a poem for Day 21’s prompt:


i’m a glass pitcher once full of water

now little was left, a crow came
weary to near death
quenching my water desperately

he thirst what is inside of me, my essence
that for long i collected these dews
a labor in disguise

he poured needlessly
pebble by pebble
smudging the once clear
adding more weight-
changing me

i stood on the ground
still and unressitant
enduring earth

as he saps it out
from me with his beak
quenched

the crow then flew and left me.

-emangarduque

 

pitcher

Reference is from the fable The Crow and the Pitcher and inspired by Rosa Jamali’s poem The only resident of this house is the gloomy hawk.

Maybe I should edit this write someday.

Leave a Reply

